

BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING June 7, 2017

MINUTES

I. MEETING CONVENED:

The Oklahoma Municipal League Board of Directors met at 12:30 p.m. on Wednesday, June 7, 2017 at the OML offices located at 201 N.E. 23rd Street, Oklahoma City, OK. President Brown called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m.

Officers and Directors present were:

President Mike Brown, Mayor, Weatherford

Vice President Bill Shewey, Mayor, Enid

Directors:

District 1 Elaine Carr, Mayor, West Siloam

Springs

District 2

District 2

District 4

District 5

District 7

District 7

District 9

Jason Nichols, Mayor, Tahlequah

J.D. Spohn, City Manager, Ardmore

Beverly Rodgers, Mayor, Holdenville

Homer Nicholson, Mayor, Ponca City

Fred Fitch, Mayor, Lawton (via)

conference call at 12:29p.m.)

District 11 Richard Chapman, Vice Mayor, Gage Towns East Dennis Heath, Town Administrator,

Stonewall

Towns West Todd Finley, Mayor, Mooreland

Broken Arrow, Alternate Michael Spurgeon, City Manager,

Broken Arrow (via conference call at

12:25p.m.)

Norman Lynne Miller, Mayor, Norman

Officers and Directors absent:

Past President James Couch, City Manager, Oklahoma

City

District 3 Jeff Shockley, Mayor, Poteau

District 6 Pamela Polk, City Manager, Collinsville

District 8 Randy Ross, Mayor, Choctaw

District 10 Broken Arrow

Tulsa

Tulsa, Alternate Norman Alternate Oklahoma City

Oklahoma City, Alternative

Jason Hulin, Councilmember, Clinton Craig Thurmond, Mayor, Broken Arrow

G.T. Bynum, Mayor, Tulsa

Michael Junk, Deputy Mayor, Tulsa Greg Heiple, Councilmember, Norman Mick Cornett, Mayor, Oklahoma City Mark Stonecipher, Councilmember,

Oklahoma City

Guests Present:

Jim Spearman, State Program Manager, OACP

Staff Present:

Director of Governmental Relations General Counsel Communications Coordinator Accounting and Admin Asst. Director of Research and Fiscal Analyst Missy Dean Sue Ann Nicely Nancee Morris Marilyn Courtney Daniel McClure

II. PUBLIC COMMENTS:

No public comments.

III. CONSENT AGENDA:

- 1. Consideration and action to accept and approve items on the Consent Agenda.
 - a. Minutes of the May 3, 2017 meeting
 - b. Financial statement for May 2017
 - c. Monthly check ledger for May 2017

President Brown asked for questions. With no questions a motion was made by T. Finley with a second by E. Carr to approve the consent agenda as presented.

YES VOTES: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Spohn, B. Rodgers, H. Nicholson, F. Fitch, R. Chapman, D. Heath, T. Finley, M. Spurgeon, L. Miller, B. Shewey, M. Brown

NO VOTES: None

All voted yes. Motion carried.

IV. BUSINESS AGENDA:

1. PRESIDENT'S REPORT (Mike Brown, OML President)
President Brown thanked the staff for their patience during this transition period and introduced the newly appointed Executive Director, Mike Fina to the Board.

No formal action was taken.

2. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT (Mike Fina, Executive Director) Mike introduced himself to the Board and thanked them for the opportunity.

No formal action was taken.

3. ADMINISTRATIVE REPORT (Sue Ann Nicely, General Counsel) Sue Ann Nicely updated the Board on administrative activities at OML during the month of May.

No formal action was taken.

4. LEGISLATIVE REPORT (Missy Dean, Director of Governmental Relations) Missy Dean updated the Board on how legislative session concluded at the Capitol.

No formal action was taken

5. Discussion and approval of the FY 2017-2018 OML budget. Sue Ann Nicely presented the OML budget to the Board for approval.

After review and discussion, with no further questions a motion to approve the budget as presented was made by D. Heath and seconded by J. Shockley.

YES VOTES: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Spohn, B. Rodgers, H. Nicholson, F. Fitch, R. Chapman, D. Heath, T. Finley, M. Spurgeon, L. Miller, B. Shewey, M. Brown

NO VOTES: None

All voted yes. Motion carried.

6. Discussion and possible approval of contract renewal between OML and Bill Phelps as the contract lobbyist for 2017-2018.

After discussion, with no further questions a motion to approve retention of Bill Phelps for 2017-2018 was made by B. Rodgers and seconded by E. Carr

YES VOTES: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Spohn, B. Rodgers, H. Nicholson, F. Fitch, R. Chapman, D. Heath, T. Finley, M. Spurgeon, L. Miller, B. Shewey, M. Brown

NO VOTES: None

All voted yes. Motion carried.

7. Appointment of members recommended by President Brown to the 2017 Board of Directors Nominating Committee

Upon further discussion and with no further questions a motion was made by T. Finley and seconded by E. Carr to accept the slate of committee members as presented. Members included:

a. Jim Couch
b. Stephen Brinlee
c. Tim Rooney
d. Cora Middleton
e. J.D. Spohn
Chair, City Manager, Oklahoma City
MCO, Mayor, Wilburton
CMAO, City Manager, Mustang
OMCTFOA, City Clerk, McAlester
OML Board Member, City Manager, Ardmore

f. Dennis Heath OML Board Member, City Administrator, Stonewall

YES VOTES: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Spohn, B. Rodgers, H. Nicholson, F. Fitch, R. Chapman, D. Heath, T. Finley, M. Spurgeon, L. Miller, B. Shewey, M. Brown

NO VOTES: None

All voted yes. Motion carried.

8. Discussion and possible action to endorse the accreditation of the Oklahoma Law Enforcement Accreditation Program. (Jim Spearman, State Program Manager, OACP)

After discussion, with no further questions a motion to endorse the accreditation of the Oklahoma Law Enforcement Accreditation Program was made by L. Miller and seconded by J. Nichols

YES VOTES: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Spohn, B. Rodgers, H. Nicholson, F. Fitch, R. Chapman, D. Heath, T. Finley, M. Spurgeon, L. Miller, B. Shewey, M. Brown

NO VOTES: None

All voted yes. Motion carried.

9. Discussion and possible action to send our Congressional delegation a letter of support for the Drone Federalism Act of 2017 was tabled.

V. EXECUTIVE SESSION (if requested):

1. A motion was made by M. Spurgeon with a second by H. Nicholson at 1:22 p.m. to go into executive session.

YES VOTES: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Spohn, B. Rodgers, H. Nicholson, F. Fitch, R. Chapman, D. Heath, T. Finley, M. Spurgeon, L. Miller, B. Shewey, M. Brown

NO VOTES: None

All voted yes. Motion carried.

VI. NEW BUSINESS:

1. A motion was made to return from executive session by H. Nicholson with a second by J. Spohn at 1:27 p.m.

YES VOTES: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Spohn, B. Rodgers, H. Nicholson, F. Fitch, R. Chapman, D. Heath, T. Finley, M. Spurgeon, L. Miller, B. Shewey, M. Brown

NO VOTES: None

All voted yes. Motion carried.

VII. ADJOURNMENT:

 There being no further business, a motion to adjourn the meeting was made by D. Heath and seconded by E. Carr. The meeting was adjourned at 1:28 p.m.

YES VOTES: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Spohn, B. Rodgers, H. Nicholson, F. Fitch, R. Chapman, D. Heath, T. Finley, M. Spurgeon, L. Miller, B. Shewey, M. Brown

NO VOTES: None

All voted yes. Motion carried.

Mike Fina,	Executive Director	_