

# BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING January 10, 2018

# MINUTES

# I. MEETING CONVENED:

The Oklahoma Municipal League Board of Directors met at 12:30 p.m. on Wednesday, January 10, 2018 at the Gage City Hall located at 513 N Main St. Gage, OK. President Shewey called the meeting to order at 12:32 p.m.

Officers and Directors present were:

President Vice President	Bill Shewey, Mayor, Enid Randy Ross, Mayor, Choctaw (via Conference call 12:32 pm)
Past President	Mike Brown, Mayor, Weatherford
Directors:	
District 1	Elaine Carr, Mayor, West Siloam Springs
District 2	Jason Nichols, Mayor, Tahlequah
District 3	Jeff Shockley, Mayor, Poteau
District 4	J.D. Spohn, City Manager, Ardmore (via conference call 12:32 pm)
District 5	Beverly Rodgers, Mayor, Holdenville
District 6	Pamela Polk, City Manager, Collinsville (via conference call 12:32 pm)
District 7	Homer Nicholson, Mayor, Ponca City
District 8	Janet Smith, City Manager, Crescent
District 10	Jason Hulin, Councilmember, Clinton
Towns East	Dennis Heath, Town Administrator, Stonewall (via Conference call 12:32 pm)
Towns West	Todd Finley, Vice Mayor, Mooreland
Broken Arrow, Alternate	Michael Spurgeon, City Manager, Broken Arrow (via conference call 12:32 pm)
Oklahoma City, Alternate	James D Couch, City Manager, Oklahoma City (via conference call 12:32 pm)
Tulsa	Michael Junk, Deputy Mayor, Tulsa (via conference call 12:32 pm)

#### Norman

Officers and Directors absent:

District 9 District 11 Broken Arrow Oklahoma City Tulsa Norman, Alternate

Staff Present:

Executive Director	Mike Fina
Deputy Director of External Operations	Missy Dean
Director of Legislative Affairs	Jodi Lewis
Operations and Business Dev. Mgr.	Nancee Morris

#### Guests Present:

Mayor, Guymon Mayor, Pryor Mayor, Wilburton Mayor, Jones Spouse Spouse OMAG Lynne Miller, Mayor, Norman (via conference call 12:32 pm)

Fred Fitch, Mayor, Lawton Richard Chapman, Mayor, Gage Craig Thurmond, Mayor, Broken Arrow Mick Cornett, Mayor, Oklahoma City G.T. Bynum, Mayor, Tulsa Breea Clark, Councilmember, Norman

Kim Peterson Jimmy Tramel Stephen Brinlee Ray Poland Rodney Carr Jana Shewey Dorie Spitler

## II. PUBLIC COMMENTS:

#### III. CONSENT AGENDA:

- 1. Consideration and action to accept and approve items on the Consent Agenda.
  - a. Minutes of the December 2017 meeting
  - b. Financial statement for December 2017
  - c. Monthly check ledger for December 2017

President Shewey asked for questions. With no further questions a motion was made by M. Brown with a second by E. Carr to approve the consent agenda as presented.

**YES VOTES**: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Shockley, J. Spohn, B. Rodgers, P. Polk, H. Nicholson, J. Smith, J. Hulin, D. Heath, T. Finley, M. Spurgeon, J. Couch, M. Junk, L. Miller, M. Brown, R. Ross, B. Shewey

## NO VOTES: None

All voted yes. Motion carried.

## IV. BUSINESS AGENDA:

1. PRESIDENT'S REPORT (Bill Shewey, OML President) President Shewey thanked the City of Gage for its hospitality and is happy to be able to have this opportunity to honor Richard Chapman in this way.

No formal action taken.

2. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT (Mike Fina, Executive Director) Mike Fina updated the board on the Small Cell legislation and programs that have been implemented.

No formal action was taken.

3. ADMINISTRATIVE REPORT (Missy Dean, Deputy Director of External Operations, Governmental Affairs) Missy Dean updated the Board on administrative activities at OML during the month of December.

No formal action was taken.

4. LEGISLATIVE REPORT (Missy Dean, Deputy Director of External Operations, Governmental Affairs). Missy Dean discussed the opposition to the PERB replacement proposal.

President Shewey asked for questions. With no further questions, motion was made by R. Ross with a second by B. Rodgers to oppose the proposal.

**ACTION REQUEST:** OML Board of Directors approve the recommendation.

**YES VOTES**: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Shockley, J. Spohn, B. Rodgers, H. Nicholson, J. Smith, J. Hulin, D. Heath, T. Finley, M. Spurgeon, J. Couch, L. Miller, M. Brown, R. Ross, B. Shewey

## NO VOTES: None

All voted yes. Motion carried.

5. Acceptance of R. Chapman resignation (Mike Fina, Executive Director).

No formal action was taken.

6. Discussion and approval of President Shewey's recommendation, Kim Peterson, Mayor of Guymon, for the District 11 board seat vacancy. (Bill Shewey, OML President).

President Shewey asked for questions. With no further questions a motion was made by R. Ross with a second by H. Nicholson to approve the recommendation.

**YES VOTES**: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Shockley, J. Spohn, B. Rodgers, H. Nicholson, J. Smith, J. Hulin, D. Heath, T. Finley, M. Spurgeon, J. Couch, L. Miller, M. Brown, R. Ross, B. Shewey

NO VOTES: None

All voted yes. Motion carried.

7. Discussion and approval of OMUP Steering Committee recommendation of Matthew Mears, Town Administrator of Hinton to the committee.

President Shewey asked for questions. With no further questions a motion was made by H. Nicholson with a second by M. Brown to approve the recommendation.

**YES VOTES**: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Shockley, J. Spohn, B. Rodgers, H. Nicholson, J. Smith, J. Hulin, D. Heath, T. Finley, M. Spurgeon, L. Miller, M. Brown, R. Ross, B. Shewey

**NO VOTES:** None All voted yes. Motion carried.

V. EXECUTIVE SESSION (if requested): No executive session was requested.

## VI. NEW BUSINESS:

No new business.

## VII. ADJOURNMENT:

1. There being no further business, a motion to adjourn the meeting was made by B. Rodgers and seconded by J. Spohn. The meeting was adjourned at 1:20 p.m.

**YES VOTES**: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Shockley, J. Spohn, B. Rodgers, H. Nicholson, J. Smith, J. Hulin, D. Heath, T. Finley, M. Spurgeon, L. Miller, M. Brown, R. Ross, B. Shewey

**NO VOTES:** None All voted yes. Motion carried. Mike Fina, Executive Director