

Champions For Effective Local Government

BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING July 20, 2016

MINUTES

I. MEETING CONVENED:

The Oklahoma Municipal League Board of Directors met at 12:30 p.m. on Wednesday, July 20, 2016 at the OML offices located at 201 N.E. 23rd Street, Oklahoma City, OK. President Brown called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m.

Officers and Directors present were:

President Vice President Past President	Mike Brown, Mayor, Weatherford Bill Shewey, Mayor, Enid James Couch, City Manager, Oklahoma City (departed 1:40 p.m.)
Directors:	
District 1	Elaine Carr, Mayor, W Siloam Springs
District 2	Jason Nichols, Mayor, Tahlequah
District 3	Jeff Shockley, Mayor, Poteau
District 5	Beverly Rodgers, Mayor, Holdenville
District 8	Randy Ross, Mayor, Choctaw
District 9	Fred Fitch, Mayor, Lawton
District 10	Jason Hulin, Councilmember, Clinton
District 11	Richard Chapman, Mayor, Gage
Towns East	Dennis Heath, City Manager, Stonewall

District 11 Towns East Towns West Norman

Officers and Directors Absent:

District 4 District 6 District 7 Norman, Alternate Broken Arrow Broken Arrow, Alternate

Tulsa Tulsa, Alternate Oklahoma City J.D. Spohn, City Manager, Ardmore Vacant

Todd Finley, Mayor, Mooreland

Lynne Miller, Mayor, Norman

Homer Nicholson, Mayor, Ponca City Greg Heiple, Councilmember, Norman Craig Thurmond, Mayor, Broken Arrow Michael Spurgeon, City Manager, Broken Arrow Dewey Bartlett, Jr., Mayor, Tulsa Jim Twombly, City Manager, Tulsa Mick Cornett, Mayor, Oklahoma City Oklahoma City, Alternative

Guests Present:

Attorney Producer Mayor of Sand Springs Mayor of Sallisaw Guest

Staff Present:

Executive Director Communications Coordinator General Counsel Director of Governmental Relations Program Manager Administrative/Accounting Assistant Mark Stonecipher, Councilmember, Oklahoma City

Travis Jett Rob Morris Mike Burdge Julie Ferguson Doug Enevoldsen

Carolyn Stager Nancee Morris Sue Ann Nicely Missy Dean Cheryl Adams Jessica Perry

II. PUBLIC COMMENTS:

No public comments.

III. CONSENT AGENDA:

- 1. Consideration and action to accept and approve items on the Consent Agenda.
 - a. Minutes of the June 2016 meeting
 - b. Financial statement for June 2016
 - c. Monthly check ledger for June 2016

President Brown asked for questions. With no questions a motion was made by J. Couch with a second by F. Fitch to approve the consent agenda as presented.

YES VOTES: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Shockley, B. Rodgers, R. Ross, F. Fitch, J. Hulin, R. Chapman, D. Heath, T. Finley, L. Miller; J. Couch, B. Shewey, M. Brown **NO VOTES**: None All voted yes. Motion carried.

IV. BUSINESS AGENDA:

1. PRESIDENT'S REPORT (Mike Brown, OML President) President Brown introduced L. Miller, Norman's new mayor and board

representative and welcomed her to the board. He then asked each board member to introduce themselves.

No formal action was taken.

 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT (Carolyn Stager, Executive Director) Director Stager updated the board on OML activities during the month of June. A summary report of Ms. Stager's activities is attached.

No formal action was taken.

 LEGISLATIVE REPORT (Missy Dean, Director of Governmental Relations) Travis Jett of Fellers Snider Law Firm, representing OCPA Impact, provided an update to the board on SQ 779 (Boren 1% Sales Tax Increase).

M. Dean presented the board with the proposed 2017 legislative priorities by the Legislative Committee. After discussion a motion was made by L. Miller and seconded by R. Ross to pass the State and Federal items as presented.

YES VOTES: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Shockley, B. Rodgers, R. Ross, F. Fitch, J. Hulin, R. Chapman, D. Heath, T. Finley, L. Miller; J. Couch, B. Shewey, M. Brown **NO VOTES**: None All voted yes. Motion carried.

4. Discussion and action to approve the recommendation of President Brown to fill District 6 board seat. After further discussion a motion was made by R. Ross and seconded by F. Fitch to approve the recommendation of John Fothergill, Vice Mayor of Sand Springs, to fill the District 6 board seat.

YES VOTES: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Shockley, B. Rodgers, R. Ross, F. Fitch, J. Hulin, R. Chapman, D. Heath, T. Finley, L. Miller; J. Couch, B. Shewey, M. Brown **NO VOTES:** None All voted yes. Motion carried.

5. Discussion and action to approve the 2016 Election of Trustee for the District 6 Trustee of the Oklahoma Municipal Retirement Fund (OkMRF). President Brown recommended Timothy Rooney, City Manager of Mustang as the nominee. After further discussion a motion was made by D. Heath and seconded by J. Shockley to approve the recommendation to nominate Timothy Rooney for election to the OkMRF Board of Trustees.

YES VOTES: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Shockley, B. Rodgers, F. Fitch, J. Hulin, R. Chapman, D. Heath, T. Finley, L. Miller; J. Couch, B. Shewey, M. Brown **NO VOTES**: None **ABSTAINED:** R. Ross

Motion carried.

V. EXECUTIVE SESSION:

1. A motion was made by D. Heath with a second by F. Fitch at 1:20 p.m. to go into executive session to discuss a personnel issue.

YES VOTES: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Shockley, B. Rodgers, R. Ross, F. Fitch, J. Hulin, R. Chapman, D. Heath, T. Finley, L. Miller; J. Couch, B. Shewey, M. Brown

NO VOTES: None

All voted yes. Motion carried

VI. NEW BUSINESS:

1. A motion was made to return from executive session by J. Shockley with a second by F. Fitch.

YES VOTES: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Shockley, B. Rodgers, R. Ross, F. Fitch, J. Hulin, R. Chapman, D. Heath, T. Finley, L. Miller; B. Shewey, M. Brown

NO VOTES: None

All voted yes. Motion carried.

 Discussion and possible action to approve the Executive Director's performance evaluation and salary adjustment. Upon further discussion a motion was made by J. Shockley to table a decision in order to do an inquiry and study; the issue will then be reconsidered at the next meeting. T. Finley seconded the motion.

YES VOTES: E. Carr, J. Nichols, J. Shockley, B. Rodgers, R. Ross, F. Fitch, J. Hulin, R. Chapman, D. Heath, T. Finley, L. Miller; B. Shewey, M. Brown

NO VOTES: None

All voted yes. Motion carried.

VII. ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business, President Brown adjourned the meeting at 1:43 p.m.

Carolyn Stager, Executive Director