

BOARD OF DIRECTORS SPECIAL MEETING September 19, 2016

MINUTES

I. MEETING CONVENED:

The Oklahoma Municipal League Board of Directors met at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, September 19, 2016 at the OML offices located at 201 N.E. 23rd Street, Oklahoma City, OK. President Brown called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m.

Officers and Directors present were:

President Mike Brown, Mayor, Weatherford

Vice President Bill Shewey, Mayor, Enid (via phone; not

voting)

Past President James Couch, City Manager, Oklahoma

City (via phone)

Directors:

District 1 Elaine Carr, Mayor, W Siloam Springs

(via phone)

District 4 J.D. Spohn, City Manager, Ardmore (via

phone)

District 5 Beverly Rodgers, Mayor, Holdenville

(via phone)

District 7 Homer Nicholson, Mayor, Ponca City

(via phone)

District 8 Randy Ross, Mayor, Choctaw (via

phone)

District 10 Jason Hulin, Councilmember, Clinton
District 11 Richard Chapman, Vice Mayor, Gage

Broken Arrow, Alternate Michael Spurgeon, City Manager,

Broken Arrow (via phone)

Tulsa, Alternate Jim Twombly, City Manager, Tulsa (via

phone)

Norman Lynne Miller, Mayor, Norman

Officers and Directors absent:

District 2 Jason Nichols, Mayor, Tahlequah District 3 Jeff Shockley, Mayor, Poteau

District 6 John Fothergill, Vice Mayor, Sand

Springs

District 9 Fred Fitch, Mayor, Lawton

Towns East Dennis Heath, City Manager, Stonewall

Towns West Todd Finley, Mayor, Mooreland

Broken Arrow Craig Thurmond, Mayor, Broken Arrow

Tulsa Dewey Bartlett, Jr., Mayor, Tulsa

Norman, Alternate Greg Heiple, Councilmember, Norman Oklahoma City Mick Cornett, Mayor, Oklahoma City

Oklahoma City, Alternative Mark Stonecipher, Councilmember, Oklahoma

City

Staff Present:

General Counsel

Director of Governmental Relations

Communications Coordinator

Sue Ann Nicely

Missy Dean

Nancee Morris

I. Meeting was called to order by President Brown at 9:05 a.m.

II. EXECUTIVE SESSION:

1. A motion was made by J. Hulin with a second by L. Miller to go into executive session to discuss confidential communications between the Board of Directors and its attorney.

YES VOTES: E. Carr, J. Spohn, B. Rodgers, H. Nicholson, R. Ross, J. Hulin, R. Chapman, M. Spurgeon, J. Twombly, L. Miller; J. Couch, M. Brown

NO VOTES: None

All voted yes. Motion carried.

III. NEW BUSINESS:

1. A motion was made to return from executive session by R. Chapman with a second by L. Miller.

YES VOTES: E. Carr, J. Spohn, B. Rodgers, H. Nicholson, R. Ross, J. Hulin, R. Chapman, M. Spurgeon, J. Twombly, L. Miller; J. Couch, M. Brown

NO VOTES: None

All voted yes. Motion carried.

2. President Brown reported that no action was to be taken at this time. The Board's outside legal counsel will be in contact with Ms. Stager and an agreement will be signed before the October 5, 2016 board meeting.

No formal action was taken.

IV. ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business, a motion to adjourn the meeting was made by L. Miler and seconded by J. Hulin. The meeting was adjourned at 9:55 a.m.

YES VOTES: E. Carr, J. Spohn, B. Rodgers, H. Nicholson, R. Ross, J. Hulin, R. Chapman, M. Spurgeon, J. Twombly, L. Miller; J. Couch, M. Brown

NO VOTES: None

All voted yes. Motion carried.

Sue Ann Nicely, General Counsel

Missy Dean, Director of Governmental Services